When it comes to operating any company, pretty much everyone has the same question in mind.
“How do I get people to my site?!”
The idea among many is that the more people you have on the website, the more money you can make from it.
To a certain extent, this is correct. If your conversion rate of web visitors that purchase something is 0.5%, we know that for every 1,000 visitors we get, we should get around 50 sales (1,000 x 0.05% = 50).
If we were to now get 2,000 people to the same website and assume our conversion rate stays the same, we should now get 100 sales (2,000 x 0.05% = 100).
Still, getting people to your website should be the last thing you think about.
This may sound backwards but it’s pointless trying to get people to your website if you don’t have it set up to convert as many of them as possible.
If you’re already well versed on this (or you’re particularly persistent) we can get started on how to generate more visitors to your website.
1) Search Engine Optimisation
Regardless of whether your website is brand new or has been active for a number of years, SEO should always be a strong consideration for getting people to your website.
This is supported by numerous studies that show that, despite the rise in paid traffic over the years (mainly from social media platforms), the majority of users are still arriving at people's websites through search engines i.e. Google.
Not only this, once people get to where they want to from a search engine, it's been shown they're much more likely to "convert" i.e. fill out a contact form or purchase something.
For these two reasons alone, you should always be thinking about how you can improve your rankings on search engines.
For this, you'll need to ensure your website is optimised for Google.
This process starts with having a number of "keywords" - phrases that people are searching for on search engines to find things.
To do this, I'd recommend using Google Keyword Planner. It’s a free, easy-to-use tool that will help you find the keywords that people could be/are already using to to find your website.
For more information on finding keywords for your website, get access to my 4 Step Guide to Online Marketing
Once you've found this list of keywords, the next step is setting up pages and blog posts on your website to target them.
To get started, found a page or blog post that you want to use to target a specific keyword (or vice versa if you haven't already created it). After this, let's get optimising!
Then, assuming you know how to change the meta tags on your pages (I'd recommend Yoast if you're using WordPress, start off by setting your Title Tag. This is the title people will see when they search for something on Google.
For this, stick with the tried and tested format of [Keyword] | [Brand Name].
Here's an example of a page targeting the keyword "dog collars".
You also need to create a meta description for your pages. This is shown as the brief description underneath the title in Google search results. You'll want to keep this to around 160 characters (not words!) and to include your targeted keywords as well, as this will make it be shown in bold.
When it comes to your content, we're past the days of mindlessly stuffing keywords into your text (thank god).
Because of this, you should instead, focus entirely on writing the very best answer to someone's search query.
Don't be swayed by old-school, black-hat SEO's who tell you otherwise. Google is much, much smarter nowadays and ranks content based on how well it answers queries, not how many times it mentions a keyword.
Regardless, if you're really worried about things like "keyword density", the keywords and phrases related to what they're searching for should naturally occur in the content anyway.
For your page, it's also good practice to include your keyword within your URL. If you're using WordPress, like this website does, you can go to Tools > Permalinks and make sure your blogs follow a format close to [website url]/blog/[blog post title]. For example, this blog's URL is https://vineleads.com/blog/3-ways-build-visitors-website/
Once you've optimised your pages for your chosen keyword, the next task will be getting people to link to it from their website. We won't go into much detail about this here, as it's a very big topic, but "link-building" is what really moves an optimised page up to the 1st page.
To get you started, here's a few great guides on link building to get you started:
2) Social Media
Having a strong social media presence is another great tool to get people to your website, with some companies relying heavily on traffic they get from their social accounts - think about companies like ASOS and how often you see them on Facebook.
However, you need to make sure that you're sure that you're using it effectively. It's far too easy to spend hours and hours posting on Twitter without it bringing back much at all in terms of traffic.
For example, if your business targets keen travelers, the best place to find is on Instagram and Facebook - there's no point wasting time trying to find them on LinkedIn.
So, once you’ve decided on the right social channels for your individual circumstance, you can then start the work of gaining followers.
Get your first few followers
If you're starting with a fresh social account, an easy way to get your first few followers is to speak to as many of your colleagues, friends, and family as you can, and asking them to follow and share your social media pages through their personal accounts.
It's not going to pull in thousands but allows you to reach a wider audience from the get-go.
Once you've done this, you can then start to use influencers in your industry to increase your following.
This is particularly powerful as influencers already have a large following that is likely to also be interested in what you offer.
The best way to get noticed by followers of influencers is to be active in their community and add insightful comments onto their posts. People will naturally start to take notice of you, click on your profile, and find out more about you.
But as a warning, be very careful to not come across as a "leecher".
If you're not sure what I'm referring to, you've at least come across one before. Take a look at some of your favourite influencers on social media and look through the comments. Chances are you'll find someone that is pushing their own agendas e.g. links to their own website or social media page.
Don't be that person.
People are very savvy when it comes to social media accounts that are just using influencers followings to "leech" attention from them, and not only does it rarely work, it actually decreases your authority.
A good way to make sure you're keeping in line is to write as if it . People coming to your accounts should only ever be a secondary benefit, rather than the primary focus.
Creating great social content
Getting followers means nothing (and is incredibly hard) if you're not posting great content on your social feed.
A great way to start is to share the blog or video content you're creating for your website. In an ideal world, this will make up the majority of your social media content, as it drives traffic to you, rather than someone else.
However, don't worry if you don't have much content to share, you can also share current industry trends and topics. You won't receive visitors straight to your website but you will still be seen as an authority figure, which will be beneficial when you start to create more of your own content.
3) Paid Online Advertising
While both SEO and Social Media don't require upfront investment and provide a strong foundation for gaining website visitors, it's important to also look to supplement this with the many paid advertising options available.
In particular, over recent years, paid social media advertising has definitely grown in significance as a way for companies to get direct, immediate access to their ideal audience.
Just like with unpaid (organic) social media, we have to make sure that we are advertising in the right places. For example, if I was advertising women's fashion items, I'd make sure I started off by looking at Pinterest and Instagram, as I know that's where my audience will likely be.
When it comes to actually creating the advert, the best place to start is by looking at your competitors and the adverts that they are creating.
Once you've seen a few, you'll start to get a feel about the length, the imagery that they use, and what they're offering to get people to click.
As a number of general guidelines, though, the general consensus is to keep your content short and sweet, make your imagery eye-catching, and to offer something of immediate value e.g. free video, blog post, checklist etc.
Converting your website visitors
Once you start generating visitors to your website, make sure you remember the very first thing that was mentioned in this article – how you're going to convert them.
You should be constantly making sure you have a successful system in place that is making sure as many of your website visitors are joining your email list, contacting you, or buying your products.
In relation to paid ads in particular, it’s important you’ve worked out the lifetime value (LTV) of your email list members over time. This term refers to the approximate projected earnings someone on your email list will bring you during their lifetime.
As an example, let’s say that out of 100 people that join your email list, 4 of these buy your £200 product, on average.
With this information, you can figure out the average LTV of one person on your email list is £8 (800 % 100 = 5). You now know you can spend up to £4.99 to generate a new lead and still be in profit.
The good news is that social ads can regularly bring in leads for under £5 each when being managed properly.
In conclusion, if you want to get people to your website, you need to consider all three things mentioned here. Work on your SEO to get your website found on Google, increase your social media presence, and look into paid advertising.
But remember, all of this advice is pointless if you don’t have a way to convert your website visitors, to begin with.
Are you looking to find consistent way to get people to your website? Maybe you need some extra help putting in system in place, first?